The Forest Hills Cemetery and the Forest Hills Educational Trust PRESENT

A WALKING TOUR EVENT — with author and historian Anthony Sammarco

Sunday, May 22nd, 2022 at 2PM

Henry Dearborn created Forest Hills in 1848, assisted by Daniel Brims, as a rural cemetery, in the vein of Pere La Chaise in Paris and Mount Auburn in Cambridge / Watertown. Laid out with hills, dells and valleys, its arboretum-like grounds are an important example of 19th century burial tends. Also, the various buildings that contribute to the impressiveness of Forest Hills Cemetery.

Admission:
$15 for advance tickets AND on the day of the tour.

Tour meets at the Forest Hills Cemetery Visitor’s Circle.

This Walking Tour lasts up to 90 minutes with frequent stops over varied terrain. Please wear comfortable walking shoes and bring water.

About Your Tour Leader

ANTHONY M. SAMMARCO is a noted historian and author of over seventy books on the history and development of Boston and he lectures widely on the history of his native city.

His books include — Lost Boston (and many books in the Images of America series from Arcadia Publishing such as Forest Hills Cemetery and Boston’s Back Bay in the Victorian Era) as well as The History of Howard Johnson’s: How a Massachusetts Soda Fountain Became a Roadside Icon, Jordan Marsh: New England’s Largest Store, The Baker Chocolate Company: A Sweet History, and Christmas Traditions in Boston. Many have been bestsellers.